You recognize it: nothing is as easy as sharing your username and password when a colleague is on vacation or when you want to transfer work. A bad idea if safety is your priority! A separate user login is then a requirement. You work with personal data. You wouldn't want your own personal data to be shared so easily, would you? We give you 9 reasons why you should not share your user login:
- Not GDPR compliant
Sharing a user login is not GDPR compliant. An important pillar of the GDPR is the protection of personal data. If you have a shared login, you do not provide total protection to the personal data in your account. There are several people who have access to edit the data and you have no overview of who has access and who edits what.
Two-step verification is not possible
You cannot set up two-step verification with a shared login. Two-step verification is an additional security step. In addition to your username and password, you also log in with an extra code. This code is generated via an app on your phone. This way you can be sure that unauthorized persons cannot access your account if your username or password is leaked.
A data breach can result in high costs. Think of compensation and setting up a helpdesk to inform your contacts. We want to prevent you from being harmed and will therefore require the setting up of two-step verification as of December 2023.
- No insight into who edits what
If everyone uses the same login, you do not know who is performing which activity in your account, such as sending a mailing. If your colleagues Marieke, Kevin or Eva log in with their personal details, you can see exactly who did what. And we can even find out who made adjustments or edits. So if something happened, we can find out which user was involved. This is of course not possible with a shared user login.
- Unsafe situations when colleagues leave
Ex-colleagues who still have the shared login information will still have access to your account and sensitive data after they leave. If they want to get hurt, they still have the option to modify data. In addition, they reserve the right to apply forgotten password. For example, they easily change the password and you as the rightful owner can no longer access your account. When you work with personal user logins, you can easily delete the user login of your departing colleague. You do not have to adjust any further user data.
Responsibility less clear
If different colleagues store the information to log in in multiple places, your account and data data are vulnerable to hackers. With separate access data you reduce this chance and increase the security of your account. With a shared user login, how do you know where the leak is? With a personal user login you can find out who was responsible for the leak and you can take action on it so that it does not happen again.
No division of roles and rights possible
With the same user login, everyone has the same roles and rights. For example, anyone with the same login data could create additional users or delete data. This is often not desirable. Go for a personal account. Then you give your user specific roles and rights.
- Unsafe situation also for your other accounts
It is possible that someone also uses the same password for other software, applications or systems than Spotler. You would think that it is that easy to use. But if you also share this information with your colleague, you do create an unsafe situation, also for your other accounts. So always use a unique login and formulate a strong password.
Not available for relevant content
You will not receive relevant information from Spotler, because we cannot reach all our users via a shared login. For example, if you want more information about webinars or a product update, it is smart to have your own login. You can opt-in for the Spotler Update via personal user login. That way you are always up to date with the Spotler news.
Access to Spotler Academy
Spotler Academy has been set up to teach you as a Spotler user more about Spotler and email marketing. You will find e-courses, whitepapers, webinar recordings and even more online content. But if you share a user login, you won't see your own progress, you won't be able to save items to favorites, etc. You then share the Academy with your colleague.
Have we convinced you to not share your login details anymore? Go for safe and create a separate, personal login in your account.
You can read more about creating users in the Users article.